The weird and lovely harp guitar

Until today I’d never seen a ‘harp guitar’. They’ve been around for over two hundred years – but it seems they’ve been avoiding me.

The definition of a harp guitar is, “A guitar, in any of its accepted forms, with any number of additional unstopped strings that can accommodate individual plucking.” Which makes me think I should’ve seen one before.

They’re very pretty things though, and whilst I’d have absolutely no chance of being able to play one (at best I can strum eight chords on a normal guitar), I would rather like to have one propped up in the corner of my lounge, looking all curvy and delightful.

Check out a few examples of harp guitars below:

harpguitars

Sweet aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

