Forthcoming ‘Queens of the Stone Age’ album details


Queens of the Stone Age will be releasing their first album in nearly six years in June and this weekend they’ve been drip feeding news as well as album snippets.

So, what should we expect? Here’s some bullet points:

  • The album is rumoured to have the title, Like Clockwork
  • They’ve signed to indie label, Matador (which is also home to amongst others, A.C. Newman, Cat Power, Kurt Vile, Stephen Malkmus, Sonic Youth and Yo La Tengo)
  • The album will feature guest spots from Elton John, Trent Reznor and the Scissor Sisters’ Jake Shears
  • Dave Grohl will be on drums (he also performed on Songs for the Deaf) after former drummer Joey Castillo‘s departure
  • Like Clockwork also marks the return of former bassist Nick Oliveri as well as vocalist Mark Lanegan (although we’re unsure of how many tracks the two will appear on)
  • The band have described the album as ‘codeine cabaret’

Check out short snippets from the new album over at the QOTSA site here (and keep refreshing for more snippets).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: