New Beck song “Defriended” released – along with plans to release two new albums

beck

It’s been a whopping five years since Beck released his excellent, Modern Guilt LP. Since then he’s produced stuff for, amongst others, Thurston Moore, Stephen Malkmus and Charlotte Gainsbourg, and last December released his Song Reader album-book.

All good stuff, but I’ve been gagging for a new Beck album for ages – so the news that a new song (‘Defriended‘) appeared online today, made me a happy man. My fine mood escalated when I also read on the Rolling Stone site that he has two new albums planned (and one that will be released this Autumn). Buzzing stuff.

The first LP will be an acoustic album which is rumoured to have a similar feel to his 1994 album, One Foot In The Grave. Beck also plans to release the album independently – which you’d guess gives him even more scope to do whatever he pleases.

Another single will be released in advance of the ‘autumn’ album and rumour has it that the other album, which is described as the ‘proper’ follow-up to Modern Guilt will follow in Spring/Summer 2014.

New single, Defriended is a standalone won’t appear on either album – check it out below:

Along with 6 or 7 U.S. dates this summer, Beck will also perform last December’s Song Reader project at the Barbican Hall in London on 4th July.

2 Responses to “New Beck song “Defriended” released – along with plans to release two new albums”

  1. Heya! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does operating a well-established blog likle yours require a lot of work?
    I’m completely new to operating a blog however I do write in my journal every day.
    I’d like to start a blog so I wwill be abvle to share my own experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you hav any ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

    • It doesn’t take that much work at all really. This blog is just about things that I like from the worlds of film, music and art. So I just post blogs about things I like and as the blogs aren’t very wordy it’s a pretty quick process. My tips would be just to make sure you post regularly and frequently and not spend hours dissecting everything.

Leave a Reply

