New Sufjan Stevens album out this March

carrie and lowell

It’s been nearly five years since Sufjan Stevens‘ last proper album, The Age Of Adz (not including the last Christmas collection). Which coming from the man who once promised to write an album about each of the states in America, seems to be a wee bit sluggish.

Anyway, this March sees the release of his new LP, Carrie & Lowell. The album is billed as a return to his folk roots and is described by his label, Asthmatic Kitty Records as, “a 44-minute meditation on mortality, memory, and faith.”

Earlier today a trailer for the album arrived filled with lo-fi footage of American landscapes and the kind of lush folk music that will have fans of Stevens’ more orthodox work drooling – check it out below:

The tracklist for Carrie & Lowell is as follows:

01 Death With Dignity
02 Should Have Known Better
03 All Of Me Wants All Of You
04 Drawn To The Blood
05 Fourth Of July
06 The Only Thing
07 Carrie & Lowell
08 Eugene
09 John My Beloved
10 No Shade In The Shadow Of The Cross
11 Blue Bucket Of Gold

The first single off the album, No Shade In The Shadow Of The Cross arrives mid-February and Carrie & Lowell is released on the 31st of March.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: