New Cannibal Ox album due this March

Canniba lOx-Blade Of The Ronin

One of my favourite turn of the century hip-hop albums was Cannibal Ox’s 2001 debut, Cold Vein. Back in the early noughties lots of great hip hop artists and rappers were appearing on the scene like, Aesop Rock, El-P, RJD2 and Murs and Ox‘s label Definitive Jux was leading the way.

Cold Vein was Definitive Jux‘s first release and it brought with it thick synth sounds and relentless beats alongside the inspired rapping of MC’s Vast Aire and Vordul Mega. It didn’t break the mainstream but it got a great critical reception and is regularly ranked as one of the 00’s greatest hip-hop albums.

It’s been a whopping 14 years since the release of Cold Vein and during that time there have been plenty of rumours, some stating the duo had broken up and others that a follow up would get recorded at some stage sooner or later.

Finally, the duo have announced that a second album is due out on the 3rd March. The album is called, Blade Of The Ronin and is a massive 19-tracks long.

Previous producer, El-P, has kept true to his 2011 promise that, “there won’t ever be a can ox album produced by me again.” Instead the album features, Bill Cosmic, MF Doom, U-God, Elzhi and the Artifacts on production duties.

The tracklist is as follows:

01 Cipher Unknown (Intro)
02 Opposite of Desolate f/ Double A.B.
03 Psalm 82
04 The Power Cosmiq f/ Kenyattah Black
05 Blade: The Art of Ox f/ Artifacts & U-God
06 Pressure of Survival (Skit)
07 Carnivorous f/ Elzhi & Bill Cosmiq
08 Thunder In July f/ Space, Swave Sevah & Elohem Star
09 Water
10 The Horizon (Interlude)
11 Harlem Knights
12 Sabertooth f/ Irealz & Bill Cosmiq
13 Iron Rose f/ MF Doom
14 Solar System (Cosmos) (Skit)
15 The Fire Rises
16 Gotham (Ox City)
17 Unison (Skit)
18 Vision f/ The Quantum)
19 Salvation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: