The Magnetic North – A Death In The Woods – new video

The Magnetic North is made up of multi-instrumentalist, Simon Tong (The Verve, The Good, the Bad & the Queen, Erland and the Carnival), Orcadian musician, Gawain Erland Cooper (Erland and the Carnival) and singer, composer and orchestral arranger, Hannah Peel.

Their debut album, Orkney-Symphony, released in 2013, was a homage to the landscape and folklore of the Orkney Islands, home to band member, Erland Cooper.

Their follow-up album, Prospect of Skelmersdale is a new collection of songs based around the town of Skelmersdale in Lancashire where Tong grew up. The album draws on Tong’s childhood memories and is inspired by works such as Ken Loach’s Kes and Ted Hughes’ 1979 poetry collection, Remains of Elmet.

Check out excellent new single, A Death In The Woods below:

Prospect Of Skelmersdale is released next month on Full Time Hobby.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: