Archive for December 23, 2012

Norman Rockwell’s ‘Waiting For The Vet’

Posted in Art with tags , , , , , , , on December 23, 2012 by dc

One of my favourite things about Pinterest is stumbling across artists I’ve not heard of before or rediscovering artists I’d forgotten about.

The majority of the art I feature on this blog is either modern stuff (with a leaning towards street art and music and film poster art) or psychedelic art (a personal love) – but this week I was reacquainted with the work of 20th century American artist and illustrator, Norman Rockwell.

Rockwell‘s works are hugely popular in the United States – which isn’t surprising considering their wholesome depictions of American life. He’s most famous for the cover illustrations he created for The Saturday Evening Post magazine for more than four decades – and for his cover work on the Boy Scouts of America‘s magazine Boys’ Life.

Some of his stuff’s a bit cheesy in retrospect – but now and again he really nailed it. Check out one of my favourites, ‘Waiting For The Vet‘ below:

NormanRockwell